2018-08-12 / Insight

Lapeer County voters mirror state results in naming gubernatorial primary victors

Rep. Paul Mitchell to face Kimberly Bizon in November
810-452-2640 • jhogan@mihomepaper.com

LAPEER COUNTY — According to the Lapeer County Clerk’s Office, 66,454 registered voters were eligible to cast a vote in Tuesday’s election. Of that total, 22,110 voters did — or 33 percent.

“I was real happy with that number. I still wish there were more, but it’s a good number for a primary election,” said Clerk Theresa Spencer.

In addition to voting on local ballot proposals and local candidate races, Lapeer County voters also cast their ballots for candidates they want to see as Michigan’s next governor when Gov. Rick Snyder completes his last term in office. Snyder has been governor since 2011. He has served two, four-year terms but is unable to serve further owing to term limit laws.

Voters also elected primary candidates to run for U.S. Congress in the November general election to represent Michigan.

82nd House District:

Rep. Gary Howell, R-Deerfield Township ran unopposed in Tuesday’s Republican primary, earning 12,293 votes. Howell was elected in March 2016. Democrat Christopher Giles of Imlay City earned 5,699 votes.

Howell and Giles will face each other in the Nov. 6 general election.

Gubernatorial Republican Primary:

State Attorney General Bill Schuette won Lapeer County with 7,719 votes, followed by Lt. Gov. Brian Calley with a distant second-place finish of 3,033 votes. Jim Hines took 1,559 votes while Sen. Patrick Colbeck finished last with 1,557 votes.

Statewide, Schuette secured the Republican nomination for governor after winning the party’s primary. He previously served in the state legislature, in congress and in the administration of former Gov. John Engler.

He campaigned on bringing Michiganders better jobs and bigger paychecks. A big portion of his plan focuses on education, both in improving literacy for Michigan children and promoting pathways to the skilled trades.

Gubernatorial Democratic Primary:

Former Senate Minority Leader Gretchen Whitmer on Tuesday won the state’s Democratic primary, defeating two progressive candidates billing her as an establishment choice. Whitmer’s platform includes improved skilled trades training, making changes to the education system, making health care more affordable, and the catchphrase she was perhaps most known for during the campaign: “fix the damn roads.”

In Lapeer County, Whitmer won 4,467 votes — followed by Abdul El-Sayed, 1,605 and Shri Thaneder, 1,111.

Gubernatorial Libertarian Primary:

Bill Gelineau, a title insurance agent from Lowell and a former chairman of the Libertarian Party of Michigan, defeated John Tatar to move on to the November general election. Tatar is a former U.S. Army Reserve lieutenant colonel and a retired teacher from Redford.

In Lapeer County, Gelineau won 43 votes while Tatar received 38 votes.

U.S. Senate: Republican Primary

Detroit-area businessman and Iraq War veteran John James won the Republican nomination in Michigan’s U.S. Senate race. He defeated GOP opponent Sandy Pensler. James will go on to face incumbent Democrat Debbie Stabenow in the general election. Stabenow, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary, was first elected to represent Michigan in the U.S. Senate in 2000. She is running for her fourth six-year term.

In Lapeer County, James earned 7,470 votes while Pensler won 5,773 votes. Stabenow earned 6,642 votes.

10th Congressional District:

Rep. Paul Mitchell, a Republican from Dryden Township, will run against Democrat Kimberly Bizon of Lexington in the race to represent the 10th Congressional District. Mitchell did not face a challenger in the Aug. 7 Republican primary; Bizon won the Democratic primary with 41.1 percent of the vote.

Mitchell has represented the district in the House since 2017. The district includes all of Lapeer, Huron, Sanilac, and St. Clair counties as well as portions of Macomb and Tuscola counties.

In Lapeer County, Mitchell received 12,015 votes. Democratic challengers Bizon won 3,230 votes, Michael McCarthy took 1,775 votes while Frank Accavitti, Jr. earned 1,301 votes.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 The County Press, All Rights Reserved

Click here for the E-Edition
2018-08-12 digital edition

Unrestricted access available to web site subscribers

Subscribers to the County Press newspaper can now purchase the complete online and E-Edition of the paper for as little as $5 for three months. If you want a six month subscription to the online edition it is $10 and a full year can be purchased for $20.

Non-subscribers can sign up for the online version for $15 for three months, $30 for six months and $60 for an annual subscription.