2018-03-18 / Insight

Caregiver questions

Q: How do I become a caregiver?

Answer: You must meet the requirements in the statutory definition of “caregiver” in MCL 333.26423(h).

The Michigan Medical

Marijuana Act (MMMA) can be found at www.michigan. gov/mmp.

A patient must submit one of the following to designate you as their caregiver:

• A complete Application Packet (if the patient is within 60 days of his or her registry card expiring OR the person is not a current patient with an active registry card)

• A complete Add or Change Caregiver Form (if the patient already has an active registry card)

• Your $25 processing fee must be submitted with the patient’s Application Packet or Add or Change Caregiver Form (the patient must also submit a $10 fee – total fee is $35).

• Your valid state-issued driver’s license or personal identification card must be submitted with the patient’s

• Application Packet or Add or Change Caregiver Form.

Note: We will not accept an expired driver license or personal identification card.

Q: Will I receive a registry identification card for each qualifying patient that designates me as his or her caregiver? Answer: Yes. If both you and your patients meet the requirements of the Michigan

Medical Marijuana Act, you will receive a separate registry identification card for each patient. Q:

Will I be notified if my patient removes me as his or her caregiver? Answer: Yes. The Michigan

Medical Marijuana Program will send you written notice that your registry identification card for that patient is no longer valid.

Q: Can I find out the status of my patient’s application if I contact the MMMP?

Answer: No. Due to the confidentiality requirements in the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act

(MMMA), state staff can only speak with the applicant/patient regarding the status of his or her application.

Q: When will my caregiver registry identification card expire?

Answer: Your caregiver registry identification card will expire on the same day as your patient’s registry identification card. Your expiration date is listed on your caregiver registry identification card.

Source: Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 The County Press, All Rights Reserved

Click here for the E-Edition
2018-03-18 digital edition

Unrestricted access available to web site subscribers

Subscribers to the County Press newspaper can now purchase the complete online and E-Edition of the paper for as little as $5 for three months. If you want a six month subscription to the online edition it is $10 and a full year can be purchased for $20.

Non-subscribers can sign up for the online version for $15 for three months, $30 for six months and $60 for an annual subscription.