2018-03-18 / Insight

Applicant/patient questions

Q: I’m a current/prospective medical marijuana patient.

Should I go to a third-party business to get/renew my registry identification card?

Answer: The Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) is a state registry program that administers the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act (MMMA) as approved by Michigan voters on Nov. 4, 2008. MMMP is a division within the Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulation (BMMR), is separate from the Facilities Licensing Division within BMMR, and is governed by a different law. MMMP is not affiliated with any third-party business operations, “dispensaries,” provisioning centers, caregivers, or certifying physicians and is not associated with any business operation that uses the terms “Michigan Medical Marijuana Program” or “MMMP” in their name or advertising.

Q: How much is the application fee?

Answer: Patient fee: $60. If designating a caregiver, include an additional $25 caregiver fee. The application fee should be a check or money order made payable to: State of Michigan- MMMP.

Q: How do I register as a patient (over age 18) with the Michigan Medical Marijuana

Program (MMMP)? Answer:
• You must submit, in one envelope, a complete MMMP • Application Packet, which can be found on our website at www.michigan.gov/mmp.
• A complete Application Form
• A complete Physician Certification Form (the form is part of the Application Packet)
• Proof of Michigan residency, which means one of the following:
• A copy of your valid, lawfully obtained Michigan driver license issued under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923, or
• A copy of your valid, lawfully obtained Michigan personal identification card issued under 1972 PA 222, MCL 28.291 to 28.300, or
• A copy of your valid Michigan voter registration Note: The state will not accept an expired driver license or personal identification card. Note: If you submit a voter registration as proof of Michigan residency, you must submit proof of your identity. Proof of identity can be any government-issued document that includes your name and date of birth. The required application fee (check or money order made payable to: State of Michigan- MMMP)
• Patient fee: $60
• If designating a caregiver, include an additional $25 caregiver fee. If you are designating a caregiver, proof of the caregiver’s identity, which means one of the following:
• A copy of the caregiver’s valid state-issued driver license, or
• A copy of the caregiver’s valid state-issued personal identification card Any other documents that are required when completing the application (see instructions on Application regarding legal guardianship and Medical Durable Power of Attorney).

Q: Can someone else sign and date the application if the applicant is mentally or physically incapacitated?

Answer: Yes. A court-appointed legal guardian or Medical Durable Power of Attorney (MDPOA) with the authority to sign documents and make medical decisions can apply on behalf of the applicant. The legal guardian or MDPOA must also do the following: • Submit legal documentation verifying that he or she is the legal guardian or MDPOA for the applicant. The documentation must clearly state the legal guardian or MDPOA has the authority to sign documents and make medical decisions for the applicant. • If the MDPOA takes effect based on specific conditions, the individual designated as the MDPOA must submit proof that those conditions have been met. For example, if an MDPOA takes effect when a physician(s) determines the applicant is incapable of making his or her own decisions, the individual designated as the MDPOA must submit proof that a physician(s) has made that determination.

Q: Do I have to designate a primary caregiver?

Answer: No. If you are 18 years of age or older, you are not required to designate a caregiver. However, MCL 333.26426(b) requires that the parent or legal guardian of a minor patient act as the minor patient’s caregiver. The Michigan Medical Marijuana Act can be found at www.michigan. gov/mmp.

Q: When does a patient registry identification card expire?

Answer: A patient registry identification card expires on the first day of the month two (2) years after the date the card is issued.

The expiration date is listed on the patient registry identification card.

Q: How do I get a replacement registry identification card if mine is lost, stolen, or damaged?

Answer: You must complete and submit the Request Replacement Card(s) Form. The form includes instructions and lists the supporting documentation you must submit with the form. The form can be found at www.michigan.gov/mmp. Replace Lost or Stolen

Card Form fee: $10 (the $10 fee covers all replacement cards requested).

Source: Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 The County Press, All Rights Reserved

Click here for the E-Edition
2018-03-18 digital edition

Unrestricted access available to web site subscribers

Subscribers to the County Press newspaper can now purchase the complete online and E-Edition of the paper for as little as $5 for three months. If you want a six month subscription to the online edition it is $10 and a full year can be purchased for $20.

Non-subscribers can sign up for the online version for $15 for three months, $30 for six months and $60 for an annual subscription.