2017-03-19 / Sports

Michigan is home to seven National Wildlife Rufuges

• Huron NWR – located in Marquette County in the Upper Peninsula

• Seney NWR – east-central portion of the Upper Peninsula, halfway between Lake Superior and Lake Michigan

• Harbor Island NWR – off northwest shore of Drummond Island on Lake Huron

• Michigan Islands NWR – eight islands in lakes Michigan and Huron

• Shiawassee NWR – designated as U.S. Important Bird area for global significance for migratory waterfowl

• Michigan WMD – 13-county area in southern Michigan

•* Detroit River NWR – located along the lower Detroit River and western shoreline of Lake Erie, 20 miles south of Detroit.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 The County Press, All Rights Reserved

Click here for the E-Edition
2017-03-19 digital edition

Unrestricted access available to web site subscribers

Subscribers to the County Press newspaper can now purchase the complete online and E-Edition of the paper for as little as $5 for three months. If you want a six month subscription to the online edition it is $10 and a full year can be purchased for $20.

Non-subscribers can sign up for the online version for $15 for three months, $30 for six months and $60 for an annual subscription.